I’m Not Dead Yet

Oh the memories of Monty Python come flowing back.  I apologize for my absence over the weekend.  My best friend got married and that just so happened to monopolize my entire weekend, but totally worth it.

So, let’s see what I missed. Granted, on a normal day, I get about 32 seconds of news coverage a day. And that’s if I’m able to find the remote and flip to Fox News while the 4 year old takes a pee break.  Most of my intel comes from scouring local and national online media sources.  I’ve just added Bryan Sears at Explore Baltimore County to my daily list of must reads.  Along with him, I check Fox News, Drudge, and local WBALTV.  Of course, I also pay close attention to my Facebook news feed.  Seems my friends post some great articles.  Hey, why should I do the work when they’ve already done it?  It’s called freeloading people, and it’s fun.  Seriously, what did I miss?

Well, they finally nabbed Polanski for raping a 13 year old in the 70’s.  My first reaction: “Who?”  Then again, I didn’t come around until the late 70’s, so I’m just not in the loop, but I’m glad they finally got their man.

What else? Oh Obama has demanded Iran turn over “immediate and unfettered” access to it’s nuke facility.  Apparently they have two paths they can take, either let us in on their dirty little secret or continue to be defiant.  You know? I’m going to go out on a limb here and guess that they’ll choose the road most traveled, at least by them, defiance.  Why should they be transparent?  What do they have to fear? A few sanctions?  Heck, Bush is gone.  They know the Dems are light on security and terrorism, so really, what do they have to flinch about?  I’m just saying…no news here.  I was sort of hoping there would be an “or else” there somewhere, but really, not even a threat.  Good one!

What about locally?  According to my good friend, Bryan Sears (who I don’t actually know), a few animal rights activists are targeting our county.  Oh I feel so special.  It seems, my friends, that Ms. Enid Feinberg of Phoenix, would like to end deer hunting at Loch Raven Reservoir, and she’d like to accomplish that by unseating our frenemy, Democrat Sen. Jim Brochin, and Republican’s, Del. Boteler & Councilman MacIntire.

“Hunting is legalized animal cruelty,” says Ms. Feinberg.  I’m thinking she doesn’t eat meat.  Okay, I know I’ve been heavy on the sarcasm today.  It must be pent up from a lack of blogging, but this is just ridiculous.  Deer aren’t exactly endangered species.  It would be one thing is Enid was against Polar Bear hunting is Loch Raven, but deer?  Without hunting, we would never be able to control the deer population.  Road kill alone would simply not suffice.  It would be like Planet of the Apes Deer; they’d just take over.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am all about not being cruel to animals.  My dog, Reese, lives like a queen in this house.

I don’t hunt.  It’s not for me, but I support a person’s right to do what they please, just like I support your right to not eat meat, Enid.  My dad was a hunter, and a great one at that.  Thankfully he got into the hunting scene a little bit after the divorce.  Mostly we just went fishing and camping, though I still can’t bring myself to “clean” a fish.  Regardless, why is it that people continually want to shove their beliefs down other people’s throats.  You can do this, but you can’t do that.  God created each one of us uniquely.  Don’t believe in God? Fine, just look at DNA then.  We’re all different, so why do we so desperately want everyone to act exactly the same?  I thought Libs were all about tolerance?  Hello, loving a hunter as much as you love a vegan is called, drum roll please, TOLERANCE!  Oh, but I forgot, that doesn’t much apply to libs, does it?  Only people who differ from them must practice the art of tolerance.  Well, us small-minded, bigoted conservatives need a few good role models, because we’re just not going to figure it out on our own. When you guys find one, let me know.

So, anything else I missed?

Leave a Reply

