Get Involved: Operation Welcome Home

This Wednesday, you have the opportunity to honor & remember the valiant souls that have served and sacrificed to keep us safe & our country free. Veteran’s Day often flies by, almost as an after thought in our minds.  Unless you yourself served or knew someone who had, this national holiday becomes  nothing more than the  the “biggest sale of the season” or yet another day off work.  I have to admit; I, myself. have been guilty of such.  I didn’t grow up in a military family per say.  My grandfather served in WWII, but living as a child in a world with no real concept of war, that seemed more like  folklore to me.  Veteran’s Day would come and go like a whisper in the wind.  As I’ve gotten older, especially considering the events of 9-11 and beyond, I’m much more aware of what’s going on around me.  War is a relevant term, not only to me, but even to the kids of this generation.  However, I still think we need to redefine the word veteran.  Many people still think of veterans as those who served in wars past.  While that is true, and those men and women deserve to be honored as much as any other, the enlisted returning from Iraq and Afghanistan are veterans as well.  They’ve earned the title, the respect and all that comes with it.  So, this Veteran’s Day (Wednesday, October 11), let’s honor ALL of our Veterans, all those who have gone to the extremes to ensure we don’t have to.

And look at that, I happen to know about a way you can show your support.  No, it’s not by putting a yellow ribbon magnet on your car.  It’s by packing up your friends and family and heading down to BWI Wednesday night at 7:00 pm to literally Welcome Home the troops. Visit the Operation Welcome Home Maryland webpage for details on what you need to do to participate in this momentous event.

Leave a Reply

