Why I’m Not a Liberal.

As a staunch conservative, I’ve spent a lot of time wondering what is so appealing about liberalism.  It doesn’t make a lick of sense to me, so why is it so attractive, especially in a place like Hollywood, where they make bakoodles of money and are taxed out the wazoo?  Recently, I’ve been watching starlettes hop from one good cause to the next, and then it hit me.  Liberalism, at its apparent root, is noble and ideal.  It sounds so euphoric.  We can all live in this community, taking care of one another, making sure we’re all equal and happy, not one lacking.  Who wouldn’t want that?  Really?  Even in the Bible, Luke describes a similar design in Acts.

“All the believers were together and had everything in common.  Selling their possessions and goods, they gave to everyone as he had need. Everyday they continued to meet together in the temple courts.  They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying favor of all the people. Acts 2:45-47”

Doesn’t it sound great?  And it explains why so many young people and the  tender hearted jump on this band wagon.  Peace, love and happiness, right?  I’m a Christian, shouldn’t I be on the wagon as well?   Here’s the thing, on what planet does anyone believe that government is the way in which we achieve such an ideal society?  That’s the difference.  That’s why I’m not a liberal.

How long has it been that the Feds have been taking from the “haves” and giving to the “have-nots?”  I don’t the answer per say, but I’m certain that it’s longer than any of our existence.  So where’s this perfect society?  I might be blind, but I only see a greater divide.  And here’s why.  You can’t force people to care.  The difference between a liberal and say, a person who experienced what was going in Acts, is about choice.  The people in the Bible were compelled to give, not by force, but by love.   They knew one another and took care of each other.  They saw a need and filled it, even at their own expense.  But when the choice is removed, when the ability to know whom you’re caring for is absent, where is the incentive?  And are you really helping anyone?

The far left thinks only about the end result, but fails to think of the cost.  Who’s paying for this equality?  Well, the rich have plenty, they should share.  Who says they don’t?  The whole pretense of the liberal movement is that people are selfish, that if they get to keep their money, they’ll spend it on themselves instead of giving it to the poor.  Yes, people are selfish.  It’s human nature, but we’re also giving, and caring, and nuturing.  And when people see a need, they do fill it, if they can. Just take a look at Haiti, the response from the American people was overwhelming.  I hear the most remarkable stories about sacrifice, whether it’s money, or time, or even lives.  God made us with the most amazing ability to feel and respond.  Liberalism takes that away, and puts it in the hands of one who can’t feel, an entity, a government.

Liberalism hurts and hinders the very people it seeks to help. The cost affects the “have-nots” even more than the “haves.”  Of course, you’ve heard the expression, “if you give a man a fish, he’ll eat for a day.  If you teach him to fish, he’ll eat for a lifetime.”  The problem with the government is that, for the most part, it acts more like an ATM machine, handing out money to those in need, but rarely empowering them to do anything with it.  It builds an endless cycle of entitlement and dependence.  What good can come of that, except guaranteed votes?  The Democrats flipped a switch in the early 70’s, going from the party who oppressed minorities by opposing civil rights to the party that enslaved the “have-nots” by giving them a fish each day.

So what’s my solution?  Well, I’m not a politician, and admittedly, my dream is also an ideal.  But what would happen if we shrunk government, gave people back their money, and built up our communities.  Every year, when I do my taxes, I think of what I could do with even just 20% of what I send to the IRS.  We could buy new toys for our friends down at Metro Kids, an inner city ministry in Baltimore.  We could line the shelves at the Catonsville Food Bank.  We could help my sister with her rent payments while her husband is out of work, or help a single mom with child care so she can work and gain independence. I could sponsor two or three of my girls from Guatemala instead of just one.  Don’t get me wrong, we give a lot as we know the needs and have the power and resources, but I just think of how much more we could do.

And then I start to think of where my money is going, and it makes me sick.  The fact that the government thinks it can do more and better with what my husband and I have worked hard to earn, is amazing to me.  And people fall for it…simply amazing.  I get criticized for not wanting this healthcare plan to pass.  But not one person can point out a government program that is run with efficiency and equality.  What makes this one any different when it starts out with deals for this state and that union?   And since when is it that our elected officials simply ignore the will of the people?  And where in those 1000 pages is the ideal, the euphoria of liberalism.  It’s all a facade.  It’s there to garner support from the young and tender-hearted, but at it’s true center is the desire to destroy what this country was built on…life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

Leave a Reply

