Let the Games Begin

If you attended either parade on Saturday, then you already know what I’m going to say.  Momentum that has been building for months, culminated in both Arbutus and Catonsville.  And even though the parades had a very different feel, due to what you could and couldn’t do on Frederick Rd, the electricity was undeniable.

In Arbutus, where campaign signs and shirts were displayed with pride, and even though the Gov was separated from the rest of the local candidates, we walked amongst the cheers.  People were excited, energized.  From Team Martel to Team Whisler, we dominated the scene with our very presence.  Of course it helped that we had so many people walking with us.  We even picked some up along the way.

Catonsville presented a few “minor” challenges.  One, we weren’t able to use campaign signs, shirts or banners.  So we abided by the rules while making the most of our candidates name recognition, especially a certain guy names Ehrlich.  Now, I chose not to walk in the this parade.  Instead I sat on the sidelines near Hillcrest Elementary with my husband, three kids, and a few friends.  As O’Malley passed by, I get a text from a friend (as I was on my way to the potty).  It simply said, “muted response to O’Malley.”  Some people told me that there were “boos” and such, which I don’t necessarily condone.  Others spoke of respectful “golf” claps.  Regardless, I’m guessing that there was a stark contrast between that and the appearance of Ehrlich.  You would have thought it was a victory parade.  People were going nuts when the Republican candidates passed by.  They held up their rally signs for Ehrlich and Whisler.  I almost wish I had hopped up from my perch and joined in the parade as my friend Glenn got to do (who’s still gleaming days later).

Despite the restrictions, we still ended up outshining the incumbents.  I think it just goes to show that you can’t keep a good man (or men and women) down.  It’s just not possible.  Our job now is to keep the momentum building.

A poll came out Monday showing that Ehrlich was ahead of O’Malley.  It’s building people.  Let’s keep it going, not just with Ehrlich, but with all of our local candidates as well.

Let’s be realistic for a second, the other side is not going down easy.  The electricity on Saturday was noticed by our opponents as much as by us.  I’m pretty sure they didn’t have the same reaction either.  They’re worried and it’s showing.  Illegal signs are going up all over the place.  One candidate in particular just puts them where ever hoping they won’t get taken down, even on private property.  Inappropriate comments are made.  Someone even took Whisler bumper magnets and put them in their car so others couldn’t take them.  I guess this is the side of politics they warned me about.  It’s all fun and games until your side becomes an actual threat.

Well, I say bring it on, as long as you don’t cross the line, of course.  We’re pumped and raring to go.

Oh and a side note,  both Leslie Tinker and I filed our paperwork last Friday.  We’re officially Central Committee candidates.  YAY!  I even started a Facebook page just for fun.

2 Responses to Let the Games Begin

  1. Maverick says:

    What a joke

  2. David says:

    Maverick,
    To what are you referring to be a ‘joke’?
    Just curious?

Leave a Reply

