And We’re Off

We barely had time to recover from the primary before surrendering to the chaos of the next 5 weeks.   All of the candidates and their teams are currently in sprint to the finish line.  And literally every day is filled with a list of to-dos too long to actually accomplish.  Why am I telling you this?  Because of my guilt over not updating the blog as much as I would like.  In a perfect world, I’d blog several times a day, updating you on all things politics in southwest Baltimore County and beyond.  However, we all know that there is no such thing as perfection, so I’m just going to have to do the best I can.  I did download this “appy” thing to my phone that will allow me to do short blasts and such.

I think another part of me was a bit depressed as well.  Coming here meant that I had to talk about the results of the primary, and that’s just too painful.  If you don’t know by now (and seriously, if you don’t, we need to talk about your sources for news and information), two men that I deeply respect and admire lost their perspective elections.  Dave “Augie” Aughenbaugh should have won for State Delegate.  No, I’m not saying that the election was stolen or what not, he’s just one of those guys who got it.  He understood what it meant to be a public servant, that it’s a duty not a career.  He didn’t unload a lot of BS onto voters.  Instead he was real with them.  He listened, which is hard to come by in politician these days.  In fact, it’s safe to say that Augie never considered himself to be a politician, just a man who saw a need and had the vision to meet it. Congratulations, by the way, to Al Nalley who did take one of the two slots on the ticket.

Another striking blow was the loss of Chris Cavey as the Baltimore County Republican Central Committee Chairman.  I can honestly say that I wouldn’t currently be on the Central Committee (OK, technically I’m not “sworn in” until November 8) if it weren’t for him.  He saw potential in me and encouraged me to widen my spectrum and dive into new things.  Side note:  I’m still trying to get over the shock of seeing my name on a ballot…weird stuff.  Bottom line though, he couldn’t really campaign for himself given his position with the Ehrlich campaign.  The other guy, one, Tony Campbell, did campaign, and now presides over the committee (or will on Nov 8).  Let’s just say that the next four years should be very interesting.

A couple lessons I’ve learned:

1. The people really can be dooped.

2. The wrong guy can win, and does win, mainly because of #1.

3. If I don’t want to walk away equally depressed on November 2, then I have to work even harder to get my candidate, Steve Whisler, elected.

4.  Sometimes it easier to be on the outside, to not be so emotionally involved in the outcome of an election.  But not nearly as satisfying.

So here’s the dilemma.  Obviously, if two men that I respect lost, then two other men won, right?  The question remains: Do we put aside differences for the good of the party?  Or do we stand on our principles?  Is it all about putting an R in office?  Or about putting the right person in office?  And what if neither person on the ballot is in fact the right person?  What then do you do?  Seriously, I’m looking for insights here.  Comment away.

One Response to And We’re Off

  1. Robin says:

    If we put party over principle, our principles will never be realized.

    http://themarylandline.com/?p=76

    -Robin

Leave a Reply

