“Tomenade?”

A friend of mine coined the term.  What do you think?  It’s funny how Tom Quirk has toned down his stance on the Promenade.  He even knocked on the door of a friend of mine who had a “Promenot” sign in their front yard and tried to convince them that he too was against the venture.  According to a letter to the editor in the Catonsville Times (8-1-07), Tom said that “Catonsville needs the Promenade.” Granted this was 3 years ago, and a lot can change in that amount of time, but if you follow the money, I’d say that Tom is still pretty pro-promenade.  Here’s my question:  why not just come out and say it?  Why not own up to your beliefs on development instead of complaining that you’re being picked on?  Why not make a case for it instead of telling people what they want to hear to get a vote?  Granted, you might not get elected (which I’m okay with), but at least you are who you are and you don’t have to pretend to be someone else just to get elected.

Selfishly, I’d love to have a Target in Catonsville, but if it means preserving our business districts and not adding to the already congested roads, then I’d rather drive to Ellicott City.  I’d also love to have a decent hotel, but why not build it up on 40 where there are more mattress stores than people?  I’m not saying that I’d anti or pro-promenade, not that it matters because I’m not running, but I’m saying that we have to look at the full spectrum.  There are many things I’d love to see in Catonsville, that I believe would add to the fabric of our community, but if the costs outweigh the benefits, then what’s the point?  I also believe that developers are not evil people, but they do need to work with the people instead of lining the pockets of politicians.  To be honest, they’d probably accomplish more by doing so as well.

Okay, two blogs is enough for one day, especially since I have 10 minutes to pack my son’s lunch and get all three kids in the car.  Sweet.  More on this to come.

Leave a Reply

