Clearing My Chest

If you haven’t heard about the recent upheavals in the Baltimore County Republican Central Committee, you’ve probably been living under a rock and need to crawl out of it.  Maybe you don’t even know what the Central Committee is, what it does, or why it’s relevant.  If that’s the case, I was in the same boat a little over a year ago.  Augie and I have a plan to educate our base as to the inner working for both the state party and the central committee, but for now, just know that they’re important to our movement.  I’m not going to go into deep detail, one, because I can’t and two, because it’s not necessary.  But I do think it’s time I get a few things off my chest.

People say that the Dems must be having a love fest over all this elephant brawling, and maybe they are.  But it’s not like they have anything to boast about.  Seriously, working on the Whisler campaign, we saw all kinds of back stabbing and slander coming from the other side.  The difference was this; For the most part, they hide their animosity between a myriad of fake smiles and flat pleasantries.  I’ll give them this though, they certainly have mastered the art of keeping it all in the family, a lesson I believe the members of the Central Committee (including myself) are learning the hard way. 

Regardless of what has happened in the past, we have to find a way to move forward.  Frankly, we’re stuck together for the next four years and tasked with seemingly insurmountable assignments, raise money and get Republicans elected.  Neither of these goals would be easy to reach in the best of circumstances, and no one could call our present conditions anything close to good much less best.  Not only have we managed to make a mockery of ourselves in the local press, we’re also facing serious additions to the already bumpy road, AKA redistricting. 

Anyone care to hear my solutions?  A couple things come to mind.  For starters, we have to choose to be the bigger people.  Swallow our pride, extend the olive branch and do whatever the hell we can do to work together.  Basically, get over ourselves.  It’s not about us.

Secondly, I think it’s time to turn our attention to Annapolis.  This Saturday, all of the central committee members from across the state will descend upon the Doubletree Hotel to vote in a new MDGOP Executive Committee.  There are many candidates that have thrown their hats into the ring vying for such positions as Secretary, First, Second or Third Vice Chair, and most importantly, Chairman.  Most of these contenders are solid, credible activists with a genuine heart and commitment to the party as a whole.  And it’s up to us to decide who should reside over this party for the next four years. 

Now I’m not going to sit here and clamor on about who the best candidates are.  In fact, I don’t even know who all is in this thing.  I just know I get emails, letters, and a few phones call each day.  Seriously though, it seems like someone could come up with an Excel spreadsheet or something listing all the candidates.  Don’t look at me.  I hate Excel…just ask Leslie.  Point being, I don’t know even know who I’m going to vote for yet…except for who Mike Pappas tells me too (Right Pappas Smile).

When I first dove head first into politics, I thought the state party to be irrelevant.  I still do for the most part.  So, whoever takes over this new executive committee will be tasked with casting a widespread yet focused vision across the state that will inspire people like us to see the bigger picture.  Here in SW Baltimore County, we have one of the most amazing teams.  We’re passionate, hard working and quite frankly, we kick ass.  But not every area of the state operates that way.  And if we’re so disenfranchised from the state party that we develop a tunnel vision for our particular area, I’m quite sure that we’ll never win.  We have to be part of the bigger whole. 

If you’re able to make it down to the convention this weekend, look for your central committee members, Leslie Tinker, Steve Chan, Gloria Murphy, and me, Hillary Pennington.  We’d be happy to show you the ropes, listen to your input and even buy you a beer.  Oh, I forgot that part didn’t I?  Friday night is basically one big party, so definitely don’t miss that part. 

Stay tuned…it’s going to be a bumpy ride.  Make sure you don’t fall into a pothole.

Leave a Reply

